Stranmillis Main Building
This project was for refurbishment of the Grade A listed Main Building at Stranmillis University College.
Stranmillis Main Building was officially first opened in 1930. It was built in the style of a French Chateau. The design has been attributed to Ingleby Smith, but some think it was the work of his assistant Thomas Rippingham. It has been grade A listed since 1992.
This was a complex refurbishment to maintain the unique features and character of the original Grade A listed Building.
- Removal of a large extent of asbestos contaminated ceiling and external wall lining on the second floor and within the roof space
- New plant installation in the existing roofspace entailing installation of a large plant gantry which was assembled in sections
- Roof repairs including repair to stone ledges, dormer windows and flashings
- New copper vents, ventilation louvres, a new fall restraint system and new rainwater goods
- Reinstatement of all floors, ceilings and wall linings including redecoration, replacement floor finishes, fire curtains, insulation, ventilation
- Refurbishment of WC areas throughout the building, provision of new accessible WCs
- New seating, lectern and carpet in the First floor Lecture Theatre
- An extensive services refurbishment of the building and associated redecoration
- Provision of new platform lift + refurbishment of the existing lift
Tight control of Health and Safety led to zero accidents or incidents on site during construction.
A specialist subcontractor undertook the asbestos removal works and provided an air clearance certificate on completion of this work.
We worked in conjunction with the architect and NIEA to plan the execution of this project to ensure that the special historic features of the building were preserved and enhanced.
|Location||Stranmillis University College|
|Sectors||Sport and Leisure|